The School Today

There are 4 Departments functioning at the School:

• Department of Theoretical and Practical Philosophy (Head of the Department - Professor Oleh Perepelytsia)

• Department of Theory of Culture and Philosophy of Science (Head of the Department: Professor Dmytrii Petrenko)

• Department of Ukrainian Studies (Acting Head of the Department: Associate Professor Nataliia Aksonova)

• Department of Political Science (Head of the Department: Professor Oleksandr Fisun)

There are 126 faculty members working at the Departments of this School, 89 of them are employed full time and 37 – part time. The professional level of the School’s faculty is rather high, as 103 members have a scientific degree: 39 doctors of sciences and 64 candidates of sciences. This professional level of the faculty provides not only the training of highly-skilled specialists in different majors, but also a high standard of teaching of humanitarian and socioeconomic disciplines at all the University Schools.

The School of Philosophy offers 3 majors for Bachelor’s and Master’s degrees: Philosophy (full-time and part-time), Culture / Cultural Studies speciality (full-time), and Human Health / Valeology speciality (full-time and part-time). Of the 264 full-time students of the School, 245 study on a state-funded basis and 19 — by individual contracts. Of the 63 part-time students, 28 study on a state-funded basis and 35 — by individual contracts. Generally, students acquiring different specialities take more than 200 disciplines, which provides them with an opportunity to meet individual scientific and educational interests and ambitions. Most of the alumni continue their cooperation with the School after graduating and getting higher education as the School offers postgraduate and doctoral programs provided by three successfully functioning Thesis Committees.

The scientific life at the School is active and quite fruitful. Faculty members annually publish more than 10 specialized Bulletins, over 15 monographs, about 340 articles, with up to 15 conferences held. The Student Scientific Society functions with high motivation and holds subject meetings addressing the matters related to philosophy, valeology and cultural studies. The best students have an opportunity to take part in international scientific conferences, University and All-Ukrainian competitions and to publish the results of their research in specialized scientific journals.

Much attention at the School of Philosophy is devoted to working with future applicants. The School conducts an annual competition of research papers among the members of the Minor Academy of Sciences of Ukraine in Philosophy (the only one in Ukraine) and Valeology. The All-Ukrainian History and Local Studies Student Conference “Know Yourself, Your Family, Your People” has become traditional. In November 2008, the School established the Minor School of Philosophy with classes for secondary and high school students, students of gymnasiums and lycees, graduates from colleges, vocational and technical schools in philosophic-culturological and valeological (“Human Health”) directions. The students of this School have an opportunity to attend lectures given by the leading associate professors and professors of the School, to actively participate in workshops discussing the most interesting and relevant problems of human life.

The School of Philosophy cooperates with many specialized institutes of the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine, universities and non-governmental institutions of Ukraine: Institute of Philosophy of the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine, Institute of Religious Studies of the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine, M. S. Grushevskyi Institute of Archaeography and Source Studies of the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine, V. M. Koretsky Institute of State and Law of the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine, Institute of Political and ethnic Studies of the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine, School of Philosophy of Taras Shevchenko Kyiv National University, Dnipropetrovsk University and other national and state universities. Among foreign partners of the School whether near and far abroad there are the following: Canadian Institute of Ukrainian Studies, Instytut Wschodni (Adam Mickiewicz University in Poznan), Institute of Philosophy of the Bulgarian Academy of Sciences, University of Leeds, Costen-Institute (Oxford, England), Ruhr University (Germany), Kennan Institute of the Woodrow Wilson International Center (Washington City), St. Andrew’s Biblical Theological Institute (Moscow), Academic Center (Beersheba, Israel), European Psychoanalytical Federation, Humboldt University of Berlin, Fernand Braudel Center (Binghamton), University of North London.